TOPICS . TREE-VIEW . SEARCH . LAST: 1 | 3 | 7 DAYS . HELP! . PROFILE . REGISTER . CHAT  

I Need Expert Advice

The Early A-Body Forum » General Discussions » Archive through October 05, 2009 » I Need Expert Advice users admin

Supercharged_sc
Post Number: 1
Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 4:40 pm   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
Hello,

Although I am a long time car nut and have restored many Ford products, I am new to Mopars – but bitten big by the ScatPack bee!

I an considering the purchase of a 1974 Dodge Dart Swinger Chrysler 400 “B” engine, a 727 transmission, a 2001 Dodge Durango posi-trac (4:11) rear end, a Edelbrock Streetmaster 383 intake, Holly 4 bbl carb, race cam (unknown duration), MSD coil, and B&M floor shifter. It has a new paint job and newish leather interior. The only issue is some rust holes in the trunk and floor pans.

I am concerned with the combination of a 400 engine and 4:11 rear end, but I really like the car.

Can you give me any helpful pointers as to what to look for and a ball park figure as to what this beast may be really worth (although that is not paramount as I am purchasing to enjoy it and have some mid-life crisis fun!)

Any advice you can impart will be greatly appreciated…
Keith_mopar
Post Number: 177

Wednesday, June 24, 2009 - 8:10 am   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
Hey welcome to the site supercharged. Without any pics it's hard to say what it's worth depending on the rust. But 8 to 12 is if the rust isn't to bad. All those panels you can buy. You could keep those gears and go with a 4sp auto or change it our to a 5sp stick for better highway cruising. As long as the frame is rust free the panels can be replaced. Search on here, some guys have some good examples of what can be done. I don't think Durangos came with 4:10's unless someone changes them out.

Good luck with your car..
Keith Mopar