TOPICS . TREE-VIEW . SEARCH . LAST: 1 | 3 | 7 DAYS . HELP! . PROFILE . REGISTER . CHAT  

HELP! newbie with a 65 barracuda proj...

The Early A-Body Forum » Members Area » HELP! newbie with a 65 barracuda project car users admin

Mcp1552
Post Number: 1
Monday, June 10, 2013 - 7:58 pm   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
hello all - I'm a newbie to the sight. my first car was a 64 cuda 3 in the column V8. now 30 years later, i've found a 65 cuda automatic - spent a year looking for a 3 in the column.....a buddy of mine and i are going to start the restoration and i have NO IDEA where to start....any suggestions would be most appreciated
Mojack
Post Number: 326

Monday, June 10, 2013 - 8:07 pm   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
Post up some pics so we can see how to help you spend lots of your money!
Barracudabad64
Post Number: 187

Monday, June 10, 2013 - 8:36 pm   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
It would help to know what shape it is in right now. But I would start with all the safety item, brakes, front suspension, then electrical & mechanical things i.e. tune-up,oil change, clean cooling system and so on. Hope this helps and good luck.

Welcome to the group you will find all the answers to your questions here from friendly experienced folks.

Good Luck. George
64ragtop
Post Number: 443

Monday, June 10, 2013 - 9:11 pm   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)   
Welcome to the site! Like George said, SAFETY first! If it will roll, be sure you can stop it. A flat level concrete work space is best by far. Wheel chocks are good if the workspace is not level.
A good thorough cleaning will help you find problem areas (careful with high pressure sprays, though!) Those are the basics. Post pictures and suggestions will follow.

BC